Posted inNews, Sports & Activities

Asia Cup 2022: Schedule, Match List & Venue

India to face Pakistan in Dubai on August 28

Asia Cup 2022

The Asia Cup 2022 will be commence on August 27th in Dubai, with Sri Lanka taking on Afghanistan in the opening game. The final will take place on September 11.

The biggest draw of the tournament will be the eye-popping match between India and Pakistan, which will take place in Dubai on August 28.

As a result of the ongoing economic crisis in Sri Lanka, the exciting competition has been moved to the United Arab Emirates (UAE). This will be the second time in the last five years that UAE will host the Asia Cup. Sri Lanka will remain hosts for the nine-team tournament. 

The Asia Cup, which was last played in 2018, will be played in the T20 format. The Asia Cup 2022 is the 15th edition of the tournament and it was initially scheduled to take place in September 2020 but was postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Table of contents:

Asia Cup 2022 Schedule, Match List, Date And Time

The schedule for the 15th edition of the Asia Cup will be played between August 27 and September 11. India and Pakistan will face each other in the A Group opener in Dubai on August 28. The chances of them meeting again in the Super 4 are also high.

Asia Cup 2022 - India to face Pakistan in Dubai on August 28
India to face Pakistan in Dubai on August 28

“The wait is finally over as the battle for Asian supremacy commences on August 27 with the all-important final on September 11. The 15th edition of the Asia Cup will serve as ideal preparation ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup,” tweeted Shah, the secretary of BCCI.

Asia Cup 2022 Teams

Asia Cup 2022 will see participation from six teams. Five Test-playing nations from the continent – India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Afghanistan have earned direct qualification to the tournament, and and the remaining  one spot will be filled by the winner of the Qualifier, which will be played between Kuwait, UAE, Singapore and Hong Kong.

Asia Cup 2022 Groups

The six teams will be divided into two groups. India, Pakistan and the qualifier are in Group A, while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are in Group B.

Asia Cup 2022 Format 

The tournament will be played in T20 format as it serve as a massive warm-up for the 6 Asian teams competing at the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, happening in Australia later this year.

The top two teams in each group qualify for the Super 4 round, where the sides will play against each other again before the top two qualify for the final.

You might also like: Cost of Living in Dubai: Is it expensive or affordable?

Asia Cup 2022 fixtures (all matches 6pm UAE time)

Group A

August 28: India v Pakistan, Dubai

August 31: India v Qualifier, Dubai

September 2: Pakistan v Qualifier, Sharjah

Group B

August 27: Sri Lanka v Afghanistan, Dubai

August 30: Bangladesh v Afghanistan, Sharjah

September 1: Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, Dubai

Super 4

September 3: B1 v B2, Sharjah

September 4: A1 v A2, Dubai

September 6: A1 v B1, Dubai

September 7: A2 v B2, Dubai

September 8: A1 v B2, Dubai

September 9: B1 v A2, Dubai

September 11: Final, Dubai

Asia Cup 2022 Venue

Following are the new venues of Asia Cup 2022:

Dubai International Stadium, Dubai

Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium, Sharjah

Who won the last Asia Cup?

India won the Asia Cup in 2018. The team will be defending its title this year.